RSS

Pappy

13 Nov

My grandfather (my mom’s dad) passed away Friday Night/Saturday Morning (or not too long before I wrote this). I just wanted to say a few things about the man that was beloved by so many people.

He was a man unlike any other. I know many people may feel this way about their grandpa’s (and maybe you don’t), but I know for a fact he wasn’t like any other man. He was the kindest man and most gentle man. Everyone who knew him, loved him and everyone that met him probably called him Pappy. He was the kind of man that made you feel special and that you were his favorite (though he had quite a few children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren).

He was a believer and lived out his faith. He is now in a FAR better place and feeling FAR better than he has in the last few years. He loved the Father and loved church more than your average person. He was a plumber by occupation, but when he plumbed, he plumbed for the Father. He loved to sing gospel music and one of his favorite songs was “Serenaded by Angels.” He could play the guitar and loved to sit around and strum out his favorite gospel music and for anyone around him to sing right along with him.

He loved his family more than he loved himself. He was a giver and a wonderful listener. He loved to regail you though with stories from his life. He sure did tell a lot of stories. I will miss this about him. There are many things I will miss about him. One of the main ones is the way he greeted you with a smile. When I was a kid and would sometimes go in the summer to spend a week with him and my Meme, he would take me fishing or push me for hours in the tire swing that was outside the house. He loved to spend time with you. I will miss spending time with him. I am sad that Haddie will never get to meet her great-grandfather. She will surely miss knowing a great man. Though, believe me, she will hear all about him from everyone who knows and loves him.

We will all surely miss him, but the Father has received one of His own and the Angels in Heaven are celebrating his homecoming. Even more than this, he was met by my dad who preceded him. I know they are enjoying singing and praising the Father together. What better thing in the world is there to do than praise our Heavenly Father and the source of our salvation. Praise be the One who created us and sustains us. Praise be to the Father that Pappy isn’t suffering anymore.

I figured I would share some photos with you of the man that we all loved and is affectionately known as Pappy, Daddy, Cliff (and many other names). Clifton Jennings was his name.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 13, 2010 in Simple Thoughts

 

One response to “Pappy

  1. MOnica

    November 16, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I LOVE THIS CALLEE! Thank you for sharing!

     

Leave a comment